Agenda Kenya
Kenya YearBook

Shooting, Handball, Cross Country

This post was originally published on this site


Shooting is a sport, where Kenya has entered competitive contest for a long time and the country has previously been represented in the Commonwealth Games and the Olympics.

Kenyan shooters are also a permanent feature in many of the world’s top championships including the hugely  prestigious UK (United Kingdom) Bisley in England. One notable performance in domestic competition was the Kenya Open Bisley Shoot in June 2015 at the Kenya Defence Forces (KDF) Laikipia Range.

Shooters from the KDF, Kenya Police, other paramilitary organs and civilian gun clubs mingle in the quest of honours in local shooting. This time, the Kenya Open Bisley produced a historic result when Nune Bonaya, a shooter from the KDF vied for the outright win. But Bonaya, who started the sport as a young lady in the 1980’s, fell short of becoming the first woman Bisley winner when she lost out in the contest to the outstanding Stanford Otundo, a General Service Unit corporal.

Otundo and Warrant Officer II Bonaya went into the second round that featured 900m, tying on points from the 800m, leading 22 other shooters who made the final stage. There would be no tiebreaker as Otundo and Bonaya each registered 69 points with each remaining with one bullet. Then Bonaya hit the right top of the target, blaming it on not reading the wind well as Otundo hit smack on the bull’s eye.

Otundo atoned for finishing fourth in the 2014 Bisley as Bonaya said she was extremely happy on becoming second and said she would fight another day.

2015 Kenya Bisley (77th edition) shooting results leader board:

  • –    Stanford Otundo – (Kenya Police GSU) 276.22
  • –    Ms Nune Bonaya – (KDF) 276.15
  • –    Edward Muleyi  – (KDF) 273.21
  • –    Moses Wachira – (KDF) 272.23
  • –    David Kirui – (Police GSU) 266.15
  • –    John Itugo – (Western) 265.17
  • –    Christopher Saina – (Police GSU) 263.17
  • –    Mark Ekiru – (KDF) 266.15
  • –    Satinder Sehmi – (Kenya Regiment Rifle Club) 260.18
  • –    John Serem – (Directorate of Criminal Investigation – DCI) 259.18


2015 national leagues


  • –    Nairobi Water Company (defending champions)
  • –    National Cereals & Produce Board (NCPB]
  • –    Mt Kenya University (MKU) Thika
  • –    Kenya Defence Forces (KDF)
  • –    Strathmore University


  • –    National Cereals & Produce Board (NCPB)
  • –    Strathmore University
  • –    Technical University of Kenya (TUK)
  • –    Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (JKUAT)
  • –    Ulinzi Youth
  • –    Kenyatta University
  • –    Black Mamba
  • –    Ulinzi
  • –    Mt Kenya University (MKU) Eldoret
  • –    Multi Media University [MMU]
  • –    Boomerang

The Kenya women’s junior team won the silver medal in the International Handball Federation Trophy held in Addis Ababa in August 2015. Kenya lost in the final 23-34 to Senegal. Grace Madegwa coached the side. It was the first time for Kenya to reach the final of the continental championship having finished fourth in the previous edition held in Djibouti.

Cross Country

Kenya held the 2015 cross-country championships at the Uhuru Gardens Nairobi on February 14. The team to the Word Cross Country Championship on March 28 in Guiyang, China, was picked.


Senior men (12km):

  1. *Bedan Karoki (35:08
  2. *Geoffrey Kamworor (35.19)
  3. *Leonard Barsoton (35.28)
  4. *Moses Mukono (35.51)
  5. *Philip Langat (35.55)
  6. *Joseph Kiptum (36.02)
  7. Joseph Chacha (36.06)
  8. James Gitahi (36.10)

Senior women (8km):

  1. *Faith Kipngetich (26.24)
  2. *Agnes Jebet Tirop (25.25)
  3. *Janet Kisa (26.30)
  4. *Irene Chebet (26.32)
  5. *Alice Aprot (26.34)
  6. *Stacy Ndiwa (26.43)
  7. Margaret Jelimo (26.51)
  8. Viola Kibiwot (26.55)
  9. *Emily Chebet

Junior men (8km):

  1. *Dominic Kiptarus (23.34)
  2. *John Langat (23.34
  3. *Alfred Ng’eno (23.35)
  4. *Rodgers Chumo(23.35)
  5. *Geoffrey Korir (23.36)
  6. *Moses Koech (23.37)

Junior women (6km):

  1. *Rosefline Chepngetich (19.56)
  2. *Winnie Koima (20.05)
  3. *Daisy Jepkemei (20.08)
  4. *Winfred Nzisa Mbithe (20.10)
  5. *Joyline Cherotich (20.16)
  6. *Gladys Koech (20.17)

–    *Lillian Kasait

Coaches: David Leting, Ismael Kirui, Rose Jepng’etich

*Team to the World Championship

Related posts

Current issues in education


Tourism and Vision 2030


Robust private sector


Leave a Comment