Agenda Kenya
Kenya YearBook

43. Homa Bay

This post was originally published on this site

Located in the now defunct Nyanza Province, it borders Lake Victoria to the west and north, and the following counties: Kisumu and Kericho to the north east, Nyamira and Kisii to the east and Migori to the south.




Temperatures range from a mean annual minimum of 17.1°C to a mean maxi- mum of 34.8°C, with rainfall amounts of between 250mm and 700mm per annum.

Road Network

Bitumen surface (101.8km), gravel sur- face (415.4km), earth surface (604.6km)

Key national monument(s)

Ruma National Park and Tom Mboya Mausoleum


963,794 people

Population density: 303 people per km2

National percentage: 2.5 per cent

Annual growth rate: 2.7 per cent

Government County capital: Homa Bay Town (Pro- posed)

Constituencies: Rongo, Awendo, Migori East, Migori West, Uriri, Nyatike, Kuria East and Kuria West


Poverty level: 50.2 per cent

Resources: Water, arable land, livestock, pasture, wildlife

Tourist attractions: Ruma National Park, Winam Gulf of Lake Victoria, Rusinga and Mfangano Islands, Kanjera Archaeological site, Volcanic Lake Simbi Nyaima in Karachuonyo, Mt Homa

Main economic activities/industries: Fishing and fish trade, fish processing, commercial businesses

Agricultural products: Maize, millet, cassava, sunflower


Number of institutions (2007): Primary 1,000, Secondary 235

Enrollment: Primary 283,162, Secondary 31,317

Tertiary: More than 20, which includes a university campus, medical training college, farmers training college, youth polytechnic, and several commercial colleges.


Health facilities: 164 – Four District Hospitals, sub-district hospitals (7), dispensaries (88), health centres (38), medical clinics (14), vct centres (7) and other

Related posts

Railway transport


Food security and drought


Foreign Relations


Leave a Comment